Wheat free! Buckwheat is proof that names can be misleading. A white triangular seed with a green or tan coloured skin, it isn’t technically a grain but rather the seed of a broadleaf plant related to rhubarb. Unlike the name suggests, buckwheat actually contains neither wheat nor gluten, and so is perfect for those with Coeliac disease or gluten sensitivity.
Energizing and nutritious, buckwheat is available throughout the year and can be served as an alternative to rice or made into porridge